Day 5 – Pirate ships, scary air and crazy eggs

We went from Tokyo to Hakone by many trains, buses, cable cars and a PIRATE SHIP. A real pirate ship.

And stayed in the most amazing hotel we had ever been to because it was a traditional Japanese Ryokan where you are supposed to get about in your PJs jump in the spa and be served drinks just like at the Playboy Mansion. The next room had an old bloke and 2 old women bunking in together and sharing the spa. Roooood.

I am too lazy to investigate why but soaking in that hot mineral water was the most incredible thing. It sucked out all the pain from walking many many kms per day and made me sleep like a dead person.

Highly highly recommended.

A cake shop in a train station. I could not make this up if I tried.

A cake shop in a train station. I could not make this up if I tried.

Its a cat screaming at a banana shaped cake  with a bow and a bell on it. Tokyo Banana Roar. SO YUMMY and I dont even like bananas much. We ate a 6 pack in 15 seconds. For breakfast. Tokyo's parting gift.

Its a cat screaming at a banana shaped cake with a bow and a bell on it. Tokyo Banana Roar. SO YUMMY and I dont even like bananas much. We ate a 6 pack in 15 seconds. For breakfast. Tokyo’s parting gift.

Hot can of coffee  and banana cakes We just don't do food very well in Australia do we? Lets admit it.

Hot can of coffee and banana cakes We just don’t do food very well in Australia do we? Lets admit it.

I think these were gravestones. Hakone area. So COLD I wanted to stab people. Vastly underprepared in the coat department.

I think these were gravestones. Hakone area. So COLD I wanted to stab people. Vastly underprepared in the coat department.

First class on the pirate ship in an elevated volcanic lake. Only the best will do. I think it was $9 per person and cattle class was 7 where all the tourist groups were. Very Italian. BIZARRE!

First class on the pirate ship in an elevated volcanic lake. Only the best will do. I think it was $9 per person and cattle class was 7 where all the tourist groups were. Very Italian. BIZARRE!

There was never any doubt that he was going to do this. I laughed. Then I said its cold, I need to go back to First Class.

There was never any doubt that he was going to do this. I laughed. Then I said its cold, I need to go back to First Class.

Cable car air thing thingy. machine cogs rolly wheels. SICK with fear. I found out a couple of years ago I don't like heights. I wonder what I was doing before that?

Cable car air thing thingy. machine cogs rolly wheels. SICK with fear. I found out a couple of years ago I don’t like heights. I wonder what I was doing before that?

Very pretty. Bleagh. Close eyes, breathe deeply.

Very pretty. Bleagh. Close eyes, breathe deeply.

Mercy. It was all I could do not to scream. A small part of my mind knew to take a photo  because it was pretty.

Mercy. It was all I could do not to scream. A small part of my mind knew to take a photo because it was pretty.

The Rotorua of Japan, stinky mountain bits with what smelled like poo water springs.  Someone thought "I know, lets put the eggs into water that smells like poo to cook them and then eat the eggs". Who would think this? Now its a famous touristy thing. Still cold, and also hungry, by this stage I was sharpening my shiv. Then Adam gave me deep fried potato and bacon on a stick and I calmed down.

The Rotorua of Japan, stinky mountain bits with what smelled like poo water springs. Someone thought “I know, lets put the eggs into water that smells like poo to cook them and then eat the eggs”. Who would think this? Now its a famous touristy thing. Still cold, and also hungry, by this stage I was sharpening my shiv. Then Adam gave me deep fried potato and bacon on a stick and I calmed down.

"It just tastes like a bloody normal boiled egg" Verbatim..

“It just tastes like a bloody normal boiled egg” Verbatim..

Painted on the pavement. Cute as.

Painted on the pavement. Cute as.

The balcony of our suite.  This was our proper 10th Wedding Anniversary gift to ourselves in super posh hotel. This tub was enormous. I had 5 baths in 24 hours. You could possibly fit 4 adults in there if you are into that sort of thing. #wearen't

The balcony of our suite. This was our proper 10th Wedding Anniversary gift to ourselves in super posh hotel. This tub was enormous. I had 5 baths in 24 hours. You could possibly fit 4 adults in there if you are into that sort of thing. #wearen’t

Super dooper bathroom. On the other side of that door is a funny little shower room where you sit on a stool and scrub your skin raw before rinsing off. Then go out of the next door to the balcony in the nudie rudie. You must be clean to get into the bath. There was nobody outside to see but there COULD HAVE BEEN.

Super dooper bathroom. On the other side of that door is a funny little shower room where you sit on a stool and scrub your skin raw before rinsing off. Then go out of the next door to the balcony in the nudie rudie. You must be clean to get into the bath. There was nobody outside to see but there COULD HAVE BEEN.

One of the rooms in our suite, this is where we danced and slept when our princess came to put our beds out and tuck us in. Best sleep I had had in maybe a year. I attribute this to having 4 hot mineral baths that afternoon / evening  and the biggest scariest most interesting dinner ever. No we did not watch TV.

One of the rooms in our suite, this is where we danced and slept when our princess came to put our beds out and tuck us in. Best sleep I had had in maybe a year. I attribute this to having 4 hot mineral baths that afternoon / evening and the biggest scariest most interesting dinner ever. No we did not watch TV.

Dinner menu. You did not choose from the menu. You ate ALL OF THE THINGS.

Dinner menu. You did not choose from the menu. You ate ALL OF THE THINGS.

Angry fish is angry. We waited until our princess had left the room and Adam rushed to the bathroom and flushed these guys. They had glaring eyes and chompy teeth. We could not do it.

Angry fish is angry. We waited until our princess had left the room and Adam rushed to the bathroom and flushed these guys. They had glaring eyes and chompy teeth. We could not do it.

One of the meals. Isnt it amazing? I also found it a bit challenging. I am not the most adventurous eater.

One of the meals. Isnt it amazing? I also found it a bit challenging. I am not the most adventurous eater.

Leave a Reply

