Tokyo Day 3 – Dinosaurs vs Robots Theatre Restaurant.

I had conflicting emotions about this place.

On the one hand it objectified these young women, there was no doubt about it. Look for videos on You Tube for the full catastrophe. Some of the girls looked dead inside, but some of them were genuinely smiling or great actors. Half of the girls were heavily tattooed which isn’t allegedly as acceptable in Japan so these kids were tough nuts.

There was no nudity  but all the bodies were young, nubile, and displayed to their best advantage. There were no spunky young men. My militant raging feminist me was having a banquet of indignation. I realise that last sentence makes no sense but I have been reading Dan Brown,  so reinventing the laws of written English is now acceptable.

On the other hand it was fun, despite this because at the end there was a DINOSAUR VS ROBOTS WAR. Which brought out my inner nerd and made me cheer like I might have been interested in a sport team, from what I hear. So there was that.

The food was rubbish, we managed to get quite pissed for such a small amount of booze, I think the drinks were lethal, so on the way home we did another one of the many amazing coolest things ever that Tokyo has to offer, and that is to get some food by using a vending/ordering machine out the front of the noodle den  and then going inside to be served 2nd dinner (and more beer).

So here are a SMALL selection of the photos I took that night. Sadly they are in reverser order so bottom up (no pun intended)

This bit was incredibly surreal.

This bit was incredibly surreal.

Giant ginger robots. For scale check the kids next to them on the right.

Giant ginger robots. For scale check the kids next to them on the right.

I sat here, with my box of crap  food and my weirdly uber alcoholic Asahi pre mixed green cordial, wondering if my brain would start seeping from my ears with too much excitement.

I sat here, with my box of crap food and my weirdly uber alcoholic Asahi pre mixed green cordial, wondering if my brain would start seeping from my ears with too much excitement.

If a person wasn't completely hysterical by the end of stairs then this should tip them over the edge.

If a person wasn’t completely hysterical by the end of stairs then this should tip them over the edge.

Because of COURSE there are images of women on the stairs for us to walk on. Top woman not a woman, top woman giant robot.

Because of COURSE there are images of women on the stairs for us to walk on. Top woman not a woman, top woman giant robot.

Butterflies. Theatre restaurant. Why?

Butterflies. Theatre restaurant. Why?

Going down the stairs to the  restaurant. It was like this all the way down. Weird mixtures of wildlife motifs and scantily clad women.

Going down the stairs to the restaurant. It was like this all the way down. Weird mixtures of wildlife motifs and scantily clad women.

The foyer of the Robots vs Dinosaurs Restaurant. We self medicated. Quite quickly, lest we overstimulate ourselves.

The foyer of the Robots vs Dinosaurs Restaurant. We self medicated. Quite quickly, lest we overstimulate ourselves.

Leave a Reply

