Day 7 – the full Kyoto experience – bottom up

Totally had the tiddly poops by this stage, we had to walk down probably 1km of this to get to another place with cars that was JUST as busy looking for a bus back to city. What was sort of charming on the way up was just irrit making on the way down. Adam lightened the mood slightly by photobombing some tourists that I insisted on saving from the group selfie. I didn't know this until we walked off and they were laughing at us and it looked like I set them up. Bad Adam.

Totally had the tiddly poops by this stage, we had to walk down probably 1km of this to get to another place with cars that was JUST as busy looking for a bus back to city. What was sort of charming on the way up was just irrit making on the way down. Adam lightened the mood slightly by photobombing some tourists that I insisted on saving from the group selfie. I didn’t know this until we walked off and they were laughing at us and it looked like I set them up. Bad Adam.

 

 

 

At the big temple. Me neither.

At the big temple. Me neither.

Walking up the windy pedestrian roads to the BIG TEMPLE at the top of the hill. Many many tourists from this point on. Getting a bit cranky after many hours walking, yes. Just wanted some hot sweet tea from a vending machine. As always Adam walking faster than me so its hard to eliminate the back of his head from all the photos.

Walking up the windy pedestrian roads to the BIG TEMPLE at the top of the hill. Many many tourists from this point on. Getting a bit cranky after many hours walking, yes. Just wanted some hot sweet tea from a vending machine. As always Adam walking faster than me so its hard to eliminate the back of his head from all the photos.

This is the dog club, do you see that? No cats allowed. Also very cute signs baffling to the non Chinese Character reader.

This is the dog club, do you see that? No cats allowed. Also very cute signs baffling to the non Chinese Character reader.

Pink wishes (or thoughts) tied to tree branches. Gorgeous. There were variations on this theme all over the place.

Pink wishes (or thoughts) tied to tree branches. Gorgeous. There were variations on this theme all over the place.

Wishes in a temple. Written on bits of paper and tied to these wires. Sweet, superstitious stuff.

Wishes in a temple. Written on bits of paper and tied to these wires. Sweet, superstitious stuff.

Bridal photos. It was so cold I couldnt feel my butt because I suffer from Cold Butt Syndrome that I just made up then. Sensible girl donned a leopard print hoodie between shots. My kind of chick.

Bridal photos. It was so cold I couldnt feel my butt because I suffer from Cold Butt Syndrome that I just made up then. Sensible girl donned a leopard print hoodie between shots. My kind of chick.

Whilst Kyoto aged me 35 years mentally, it subtracted 35 years from my husband. Here he is 4 years old, with a big heart symbol made from arms, in front of the cherry blossoms.

Whilst Kyoto aged me 35 years mentally, it subtracted 35 years from my husband. Here he is 4 years old, with a big heart symbol made from arms, in front of the cherry blossoms.

A wee private temple/ cemetery /place of worship. So lovely. A bit cold.

A wee private temple/ cemetery /place of worship. So lovely. A bit cold.

Allow me to introduce Feral Cheryl.

Allow me to introduce Feral Cheryl.

Feral Cheryls mates. Even Japanese feral animals are polite and tidy. Look at them posing prettily in the cherry blossom petals.

Feral Cheryls mates. Even Japanese feral animals are polite and tidy. Look at them posing prettily in the cherry blossom petals.

Chilly Billy and Shivering Olivia. It was freezing. The cats were just being smart. Ferals again.

Chilly Billy and Shivering Olivia. It was freezing. The cats were just being smart. Ferals again.

I estimated this goldfish to be somewhere between 40 and 50cm long. It was a cracking MONSTER. I loved their big goldfish, so amazing. So many of them too.

I estimated this goldfish to be somewhere between 40 and 50cm long. It was a cracking MONSTER. I loved their big goldfish, so amazing. So many of them too.

Kyoto viaduct what we walked along, allegedly quite old although to be honest I was too lazy to find out how old. Also some bits dangerously narrow. Given my poise, grace, balance and general physical aptitude obviously this was incredibly safe for me to be walking along. Also I was hungry. This is never good because I get cross and clumsier.

Kyoto viaduct what we walked along, allegedly quite old although to be honest I was too lazy to find out how old. Also some bits dangerously narrow. Given my poise, grace, balance and general physical aptitude obviously this was incredibly safe for me to be walking along. Also I was hungry. This is never good because I get cross and clumsier.

Kyoto turned me into a total Grandma, it was so beautiful. This was a home, right up against the canal and the Philosophers Walk, MAJOR tourist walk. Compact houses, tidy, peaceful. How's the serenity? Pretty serene dude.

Kyoto turned me into a total Grandma, it was so beautiful. This was a home, right up against the canal and the Philosophers Walk, MAJOR tourist walk. Compact houses, tidy, peaceful. How’s the serenity? Pretty serene dude.

Australia we are doing all the things wrong. This is how to do the things. See? Ice cream. Of course.

Australia we are doing all the things wrong. This is how to do the things. See? Ice cream. Of course.

Its a shame this wasnt a video because he was saying "HIIIII YA!" exactly like Miss PIggy.

Its a shame this wasnt a video because he was saying “HIIIII YA!” exactly like Miss PIggy.

I saw this and fell into a deep swoon because of, you know, Monkey Magic. I can imagine Tripitaka in there bowing to buddha or some warlord while in another room Pigsy getting jiggy with it.

I saw this and fell into a deep swoon because of, you know, Monkey Magic. I can imagine Tripitaka in there bowing to buddha or some warlord while in another room Pigsy getting jiggy with it.

Those that know me would be surprised that such a dim witted purveyor of white noise would understand the principles behind Zen Buddhism, but you learn something every day. Zen Gravel garden. Mind blowingly beautiful and serene despite the thronging masses of Chinese Tour groups.

Those that know me would be surprised that such a dim witted purveyor of white noise would understand the principles behind Zen Buddhism, but you learn something every day. Zen Gravel garden. Mind blowingly beautiful and serene despite the thronging masses of Chinese Tour groups.

The Philosophers Walk from an old temply part of Kyoto along a canal was just so beautiful, cherry blossoms agogo. Leading from ancient - Dan Brown makes me hate that word- temple to ancient temple. Cherry blossom petals in the flowing canal. I love flowers so I was in Nanna heaven.

The Philosophers Walk from an old temply part of Kyoto along a canal was just so beautiful, cherry blossoms agogo. Leading from ancient – Dan Brown makes me hate that word- temple to ancient temple. Cherry blossom petals in the flowing canal. I love flowers so I was in Nanna heaven.

All day bus pass. Kawaii!

All day bus pass. Kawaii!

Leave a Reply

